Assault & Battery Defense Lawyer located in Newport Beach
& Serving Clients throughout Orange County
Despite common misconception, “assault” and “battery” are two separate crimes under California law. If you are accused of simply attempting to injure another person—regardless of whether or not an injury actually occurred—you can be arrested and charged with assault.
Both assault and battery are serious charges that come with harsh penalties for convicted offenders. If you have been accused of or charged with assault and/or battery, contact the Law Office of John F. Christl as soon as possible. Our skilled Newport Beach assault and battery attorney has over 25 years of experience defending clients throughout Orange County and the surrounding areas.
Call us now at (949) 245-6708 or submit an online contact form to request your free, confidential consultation.
Understanding California’s Assault & Battery Laws
California law outlines several different forms of assault and battery, each with varying degrees of penalties in accordance with the severity of the alleged crime.
Depending on the circumstances involved, you could be charged with any of the following:
- Simple Assault: An unlawful attempt to cause violent injury to another individual when the offender has the present ability to do so; this is a misdemeanor punishable by up to six month in jail and/or fines up to $1,000, as well as probation and potential restitution to the victim
- Simple Battery: The willful or unlawful use of violence or force against another person; typically charged as a misdemeanor with penalties including up to six months in jail and/or fines up to $2,000, probation, and possible restitution to the victim
- Battery of a Police Officer, Firefighter, etc.: The use of force against a police officer, firefighter, EMT, and other certain public servants is either a misdemeanor or a felony (depending on the circumstances) in California and is punishable by up to three years in jail or prison, fines up to $2,000 and/or $10,000, and probation
- Aggravated Assault: The unlawful and clear intent to cause serious bodily harm, violent injury, or death to another individual; charged as either a misdemeanor or felony and punishable by up to one year in prison, fines up to $10,000, probation, possible restitution, and community service
- Aggravated Battery: The use of force against another individual, resulting in serious bodily injury; this can be charged as either a misdemeanor or felony and is punishable by up to one year in jail to four years in prison, as well as fines, probation, and more.
Request a Free Consultation
The laws against assault and battery in California are strict and the penalties are incredibly harsh. At the Law Office of John F. Christl, we can help you understand your legal options and work to protect your rights, your freedom, and your future. Our Newport Beach assault and battery defense attorney is prepared to aggressively fight for you. We represent clients in Orange, Los Angeles, San Diego, Riverside, and Santa Barbara Counties.
Contact us online or call (949) 245-6708 for a free consultation.